girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Giving up

Next week is Ash Wednesday and I think that I'm going to give up everything I can think of for Lent.

I'm working on a list now of what I'm going to give up, and working out what I'm going to tell people about why I'm doing it. And also working out why I'm doing it.

There are so many reasons to do it.

For one, there are the health reasons. Then there's the satisfaction of having set oneself a goal and seen it through until the end. But it's more do-able, because it's a finite period of time.

It's good to deny things to yourself, if you're used to pleasing yourself all the time.

I like the idea of it.

I'm better at giving things up than at taking things up, I think, anyway.

But I'm still going to think about it for a little bit longer. Just in case I think it will be too depressing for me. But it's only 40 days, that's not that long, not anymore.





1:04 p.m. - 2003-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless