girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The administration of enjoyment

I love the number three, and I love the date March 3rd, the third of the third. It's girls' day in Japan. I remember going to Kaori's house on girls' day and they had the big thing with the dolls and cakes set up. Her mother was really nice. In their garage was a big stockpile of Japanese stationery, all Hello Kitty and all that other stuff that eight-year-old girl dreams are made of.

Maybe something good will happen today! Even though I've come to accept that three isn't actually lucky, it's just my favourite number.

Last night was the book reading, and it was good. Well, of course I hadn't read the book, or any of his books. He's David Mitchell (and he lived in Japan). The first bit of the book he read was so awful though, this made up vernacular thing that was just really irritating, and I was thinking how much I would not want to read that book. But then he explained the structure really well, and it turns out that bit is only one bit. So now I do want to read it, only it looks really long. Well, it IS really long, and ... I just don't read well these days.

He seemed genuinely humble and touched that people not only bothered turning up, but read his books and had questions about them. So, I liked him. S has already read the book and she was raving about it. She ran into lots of people she knows (it seems that if you work in a bookshop, you don't mind spending your leisure time in them as well). I didn't run into anyone.

Then dinner, where we talked about food and dieting and eating. That's all we ever talk about, it seems. She's so unhappy. Sometimes I can't bear it, it's so palpable, in everything she does.

Well, before the reading we found ourselves in the self-help section, and then there was a book with the worst phrase I've ever read: "The Subject of Addiction: Psychoanalysis and the Administration of Enjoyment".

10:18 a.m. - 2004-03-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless