girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a criminal genius with a poker face.

Being an overwhelmingly negative, Murphy's law kind of a person, I think my dread of Lisa's visited has paid off in it not (and I'm only admitting this begrudgingly) being as bad as I'd anticipated. But I'm not going to speak too soon; there are four nights to go.

She had her interview, but it was earlier than originally planned. She was preparing some answers and asked me what I would say to the old "what is your personal weakness" question, and it reminded me of that brilliant bit in the movie Trainspotting, where Spud goes for a job interview and has to try hard enough to impress his dole officer but not hard enough that he actually gets a job. He says his weakness is that he's a bit of a perfectionist, and hugs one of the interviewers at the end, remember?

(I just want to say that I have read Trainspotting, because I'm a bit of a snob like that and I'd hate to be the kind of person who only saw the film and didn't read the book.)

I was in a strange and unfamiliar place with Lisa yesterday, namely the supermarket, and she almost made me sob openly when she pointed at a bottle of Bombay Sapphire and said: "I could have got you one of those in duty free for �7." Not just a little bottle. A huge, beautiful one. ENORMOUS.

Oh well, she paid for all the shopping, and that is a good thing because I got paid yesterday, and after my monthly wage had been deposited in my bank account, before a penny was spent on rent or bills, the balance of my account was �57.11.

Anyway, Lisa said her answer to the weakness question is that she doesn't have a poker face, which seemed like an odd thing to say in a telephone interview. I never prepare for these things and I have no good answers that I would give to that question. And that's probably why I've been at the same company for five years, and why I have �57.11 in my bank account. No. Had �57.11 in my bank account.

Still, I'm fighting back, saving myself 70p this morning by deliberately and knowingly using an out-of-date bus pass to get to work. Criminal genius, I tell you. I think I only got away with it because of my poker face.

11:00 a.m. - 2002-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless