girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nobody puts Baby in a corner

Well, a perfectly crap end to a perfectly crappy day... my niece, who is four, freaked out because I said she couldn't take out her violin and "play" it. We didn't even fight about it, she was just trying to make herself cry and the next thing she was hysterical.

Still, if I'd let her "play" it, it would have been me sobbing hysterically, so I'm not feeling too bad.

I watched Dirty Dancing on TV though, which I saw at the cinema with my friend Nicole in 1987. We both rushed out and bought the "Time of my Life" single right afterwards too, which suddenly seems something I ought to be ashamed of.

It's such a strange movie. I mean, I think there's a whole plotline that involves Patrick Swayze being a time traveller that they left on the cutting room floor.

Why else is everyone dressed in these ... I don't know, fifties costumes, while Patrick Swayze gets about in a tight tank top and tight trousers? Mind you, Jennifer Grey's hair has a distinctly permed look about it, possibly indicative of her character's free-spirited ways, or possibly because she's also travelled back from the 1980s (although she managed to pick up some more authentic clothes on the way).

Everyone's favourite bit of Dirty Dancing is where Patrick Swayze comes back from a jaunt to 1987, where he's managed to bring back the aforementioned "Time of my Life" single, and says: "Nobody puts Baby in a corner."

Yeah, I knew that was a totally awful line even when I saw it for the first time.

Patrick Swayze has squinty little eyes and small, mean looking mouth, and I can't remember ever seeing him in another film (one of the things I'm most proud of is that I've never seen Ghost and I've never seen Titanic).

Oh well, at least a seeing that crappy movie has cheered me up a bit.

11:09 p.m. - 2002-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless