girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bitching about other people at the swimming pool

I know that pool rage and all things swimming related are more the territory of Polly Magoo, but I've been swimming more lately because it's so hot (I really can't wait for Christmas, just for the weather) and every time I swim I end up with some sort of pool rage.

Like today. There's two people in my lane, one in another lane and one in the third lane. So why on earth would the next two people to get in the pool ALSO GET IN MY LANE, making FOUR PEOPLE IN MY LANE? It's just stupid.

So I move out of that lane to one of the one-person lanes, and then some arse comes and gets in my lane, waits until I've swum two strokes and then starts swimming so that when I stop he's right behind me, and then I assumed that he was a fast swimmer and wanted to go ahead, so I wait for him to go ahead. And wait. And wait. And eventually he goes, and it turns out he's not a faster swimmer than me, he's one of my most hated things of all. A thrasher! All sound and fury signifying nothing. Splashing all the water excessively and flicking his head around like a person being attacked by a crocodile but actually going really slowly.

Thrashers are highly irritating because they're pointless, they're a danger if they're swimming against you and you come up for air and end up with a lungful of water because of their huge and pointless wake. Also, they're really noisy.

But I don't think I loathe them as much as the people who make up swimming strokes.

I know, I'm really limited and I should be more open minded, but I can't help it. I hate people who do breast-stroke on their backs. I hate people who do butterfly on their backs. Do fucking BACKSTROKE if you're on your back. (I'm allowed to do back scull but that's because I'm wearing contacts in the water and I want a break from wearing my goggles and backstroke splashes too much and contacts and chlorinated water do not mix).

I also hate those ladies who swim up and down with all their hair piled up on their heads never getting anything above their necks wet and not exerting themselves in the least. But nothing gets my goat as much as the fuckers who WALK UP AND DOWN THE POOL. FUCK OFF AND GO FOR A WALK INSTEAD.

Oh. I just remembered what you're going to read if you click on the link to Polly Magoo right now, and it's RUDE, so DON'T CLICK, it will MAKE YOU BLUSH. Or at least, it should make you blush! And it's nothing to do with swimming.

2:18 p.m. - 2004-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless