girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One more week

I'm suddenly really excited to be moving. Only one more week in this stupid stupid flat and then I'll be living somewhere NORMAL! With a proper BED! And sleeping in a room without a FRIDGE or a FREEZER in it. And sitting on a NORMAL COUCH if I want to watch TV! (And they've got a PlayStation!)

Oh boy.

Thank you Bluey-Grey from saving me from trawling through the dreaded Loot. (and while I'm talking about her, I just don't know why more people don't read her diary, I think she's funny and interesting). I know I whinged about it considerably, but it was a relatively painless experience and I don't remember coming across any complete freaks along the way, so thanks are definitely in order.

..........

I was in Selfridges today, buying a pair of trousers which are miles too long but nice. And I just saw all these men trailing around after their girlfriends/wives... one guy had one hand full of House of Fraser shopping bags and the other hand with two bags with pairs of shoes in them, and I just wanted to pull him in front of a mirror and tell him to be a real man, and, not that I use this phrase but if I did, say something about being pussywhipped.

It's sad! It makes me sad seeing men do that. I mean, you know, when it's obvious they've no interest in being there.

I hate shopping, it really brings out this Puritanical side in me, I want to get a sewing machine and make or my own clothes. Or do that thing I've wanted to do for ever, which is just buy the same thing multiple times and wear the same thing every day, and have nothing to do with fashion (not that I've much to do with it anyway).

I resent the whole thing. This whole thing of trying to sell you these dreams of Who You Could Be if you only just owned this item of clothing; or what adventures you could have if you only owned this dress! And the expense of it, the cynicism of it. (Plus looking at some of the clothes, just the plain ugliness of it.)

But... sigh. Shop I must. Unless someone can promise me it won't be raining in New York, otherwise I need a new pair of boots that doesn't let water in.

I've got an exciting week coming up. In fact, an exciting beginning of May. Hurrah for something happening!

And wow... if I'd not given up drinking for that time, I might still be just hating this flat and not doing anything about it.

Oh, I want this to last for a while. I feel good.

7:26 p.m. - 2003-04-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless