girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy birthday to yous

Twins! You must have so much in common Carie (who is 27) and Jenny (V26.1) because you share a birthday. Today! Happy birthday. (and have a look here for birthday gift ideas).

..........

Two nights, two great movies -- Secretary on Monday night, which I'd been dying to see after everyone was raving about it, but only just came out here, and then last night to see 25th Hour, which I wasn't exactly dying to see, but wow, what a great film, I really loved it.

Secretary had me all paranoid that the cinema was just filled with doms looking for subs, so no eye contact with anyone on the way out, especially because it could've been that creepy laughing guy who was laughing hysterically every time he spanked her and even more when he wanked on her. I mean, it was a funny film, sure, but you know.

I, myself, was laughing very much in 25th Hour when they're trying to explain to the Ukrainian guy that "it's funny you should say that" and "that was a funny thing to say" mean different things. I really loved that movie, and it stood up to being talked about for the whole of dinner afterwards.

..........

Whoever would've thought that Bruce Willis and a ridiculously camp Jeremy Irons could help two people bond, but that's exactly what happened to me last night.

Flicking over TV channels with one of my flatmates, and Die Hard with a Vengeance was on. So I was saying how I loved the bit where they had to solve the water puzzle AND THEN THAT BIT CAME ON, and then we both sat up half the night trying to figure out how they did it BUT FAILED MISERABLY. Hopefully he stumbled upon this site or something similar and is out of his misery today. We were so close to solving the puzzle too! Although as he pointed out, we would've been blown up by now. Dammit.

..........

Every now and then it's good to get a bit of perspective about how my life isn't the worst in the world, and today that bit of perspective is brought to me by the Financial Times, and because I'm a kind and considerate person, I thought you might like to know too.

Because however shit things are going today, at least you're not the person who cleared page 11 of today's FT, which features a photograph of some Asian workers sewing fabric in a sweatshop and the caption: "Mad cow disease: this German herd had to be slaughtered when European cattle were affected".





10:46 a.m. - 2003-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless