girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Lives of the Saints

Anyway, last night... it was the big reunion with the two friends who were in Australia for a year. Only it wasn't such a big deal because it was like they'd never been away. I mean, in the pub we were like... "oh, I was sitting downstairs, I saw you come in..." before we remembered to be excited to see eachother.

It's nice, though, to have friends like that, where you just pick up where you left off.

They still feel like the new part of my life, but now we've all known eachother for eight years. And we've shared a bathroom. B doesn't know if he wants to move back to London, but A is already down here with his civil service "job". I want B to move back down though, I don't want to have to go to Preston, and that's where he lives. But I think he will move here, we were telling him he should "work" for the civil service too. It's the new rock'n'roll.

Before I met them, I was early, so I decided to have a quick look at a new favourite picture in the National Gallery. But first, Vancookie, I went and looked at their books on saints. (Vancookie asked me if I knew about the lives of the saints when we were looking at pictures together in the Met, and I've become a bit obsessed with it now, I was compelled to buy a book about it on Sunday, but now I think it's not the right book, because it's a dictionary of saints, nothing to do with art and lots of newer saints. Still kind of interesting though... like there is a patron saint for radiologists. And yesterday was the feast day of the Venerable Bede. But they had other, better books on saints, so maybe I'll change it.)

Also there was something really good on there, just three sculptures, but so amazing, click here if you want to see. They're so lifelike, frozen at a moment in time, that you feel afraid to stand too close, like they might just start moving.

Then it was a 30th birthday, maybe the last for awhile (this year is the year of babies, it seems... but it's better, babies, no one invites you to a birth, not like weddings).

You think that turning 30 is going to be this thing, but then we were trying to remember what we'd done for various 30th birthdays... I guess the answer was mostly "sit around in a pub with the same people we usually sit in pubs with". The friend whose birthday it was said that it was her last day smoking, and I was trying to convince her to at least go until May 31. Because that's a better day, not the day after your birthday when you're hungover and miserable.

11:35 a.m. - 2003-05-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless