girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What I did on my weekend, by girls dont cry

Why would someone go to the trouble of writing a really unfunny email and then sending it to their friends saying that if they don't forward it to their friends, then something terrible will happen? Isn't that something you should do to people you don't like? And if you did write something really genuinely funny, then wouldn't people send it to their friends anyway? Without the threat of, well, as the one I just got says, "a HORRIBLE streak of bad luck in your love life".

Well, no doubt everyone's simply DYING to know what I did on the weekend. On Friday, my brother paid for me to see the Frida Kahlo exhibition at Tate. I wasn't enthusiastic before I went, and I'm less so now. Kahlo's painting seems to be obsessed with her roots and her nationality and her physical afflictions (is a monobrow an affliction?). I have no roots and very little time for nationalism, and I'm not physically afflicted (except I don't think my knees are quite as strong as they used to be), so it's all a bit... I mean, I don't have to "identify" with paintings, but, well, it just doesn't thrill me at all. Also, her painting never seemed to progress from the day that she started painting, it just stayed flat and kind of boring. I guess because her husband told her he liked the way she painted, so she got scared to change it. The exhibition notes keep saying "faux-na�ve" and other ways of saying that it was really much deeper and more complex than it looked, but it just looked na�ve to me.

Saturday, I did a walk from this book (the one written by Janet Street Porter that goes around Clerkenwell). It was fun. Then we went to a bookshop that a friend works in and during the 20 minutes we chatted the only book that anyone bought was Harry Potter, and they were all buying the "adult" edition. After that I went to a party and it was good, and a Frenchman told us a story that made everyone laugh really really hard, so then we made him tell it again later. And Sunday was Sunday, it was nice.

3:06 p.m. - 2005-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless