girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happiness is a warm cat

Gary Rhodes says in his shortbread recipe to bake it until it is golden brown, but I completely disagree that that is the best colour for shortbread. COMPLETELY. Do you HEAR, Gary Rhodes? My bread is SHORTER THAN YOURS. Short and thick and pale and delicious.

Even though I use his book almost everytime I bake something (which isn't that often, but has been for the last two weekends running), I think that he secretly probably looks down on baking and thinks that it's not REAL cooking, not like cooking big joints of beef and stuff.

In fact, probably lots of men who cook think that. But the thing about baking is that it's so random. Whatever it is you're making, you don't actually NEED, it's just purely for nicessness. To have something nice. Or to have something nice to give someone. Which is why it's a nice, happy thing to do.

It's not like I'm going to choose names and force people to answer this question Meme-style, but yesterday as I was googling "tuberculosis" (I'd had a cough for two days), I was thinking about what diseases I had googled for because I thought I might have them. And if it ever turned out that I did. And if other people would confess to which diseases they had googled (does it count if you google diseases that you really have? Yes, I think that that can be admitted).

But I'm curious.

Here are five that I have or think I probably have googled:

- tuberculosis (you worry when the cough has lasted two weeks, not two days)
- pregnancy (not viewed by everyone as a disease, but it IS if you don't want to catch it)
- gout (after my homeopath said she thought I had it)
- skin cancer (specifically When Moles Turn Bad)
- chest pains

I have probably googled memory loss as a symptom, but I can't be sure.

If this is a good idea, it will spread (like flu in February).

Oh, I forgot, hello to whoever it was in Glasgow who spent 5 hours 41 minutes and 59 seconds reading my diary yesterday. Feel free to say hello back!

12:21 p.m. - 2005-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless