girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When in London breathe a deep sigh of relief.

So, the wedding was... it was a wedding, it was a bit of a shambles, it was quick (God bless civil services) and it was IN WALES.

The second we crossed the Severn Bridge and touched down in Wales it started pissing down with rain. I saw two rainbows while I was there, and I think it's because people in Wales must need reminding more than most that it will never again rain for 40 days and 40 nights.

My friend and I were both having that kind of time where you meet loads of new people and you just think they're all unpleasant and snobby and not very nice. Everyone was odd -- even the bride described the rest of the guests as her "drug fuck friends". So we just spent most of the car ride back bitching so much about everyone else; convinced they didn't like us, followed by the obligatory: "I don't care what they think about me."

In the bar last night, we ran into one of the locals and he pissed us both off. He was one of those typical people who thinks that because you live in London it's perfectly acceptable just to slag it off. He was telling us, both Australians, how shitty London was and how we should both move to Wales. How London isn't Britain, and we shouldn't think that it was.

But you know the main reason I prefer to stay in London and not go to other places here is precisely that reason. London isn't Britain, and that's one of the great things about it.

Man, though, it's just the same old cliches about London. People telling you how unfriendly it is. But the thing is, if you start talking to someone in a pub in London, you generally won't find them slagging off the place you live and telling you to move. If we'd said the same things to this guy about the place he lives (yes, it was beautiful sitting up on the cliff overlooking that sea far away from everything, but there was plenty of depressing stuff getting there), he'd have called us all kinds of things, it would have been ugly.

A couple of cool things did happen while we were there. I saw the sun set over the sea, and as an eastern coast kind of a person, this is something I've seen only a handful of times in my life. It was beautiful.

I also saw a beautiful night sky, and as a city-dwelling kind of a person, I always hope for a clear night the few times I stay in the country, so I can see the stars.

They had fireworks too. They hadn't managed to organise the usual wedding things like music or speeches, but they did have fireworks, and that was cool.

But overall the weekend was defined by toilets reeking of piss (you expect it from motorway services, but I really could have done without it at the bed & breakfast too).

I'm very tired, and I'm very glad to be home in my little space, by myself.

7:21 p.m. - 2002-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless