girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All change

I was out with friends, and feeling jealous because everyone's life is changing and mine isn't.

One friend has quit her job, just like that, for really grown up reasons, partly, and childish reasons too. But that was making me the most jealous. It's really such a great feeling to quit your job with nothing to go to, it's like daring the universe, but at the same time you feel so bold you sense the universe won't dare to do anything back to you.

I haven't successfully quit a job for so long. I need to do that, I'm so lazy and comfortable where I am.

Then another friend is waiting to hear about a new job; another just got moved to managing a different bookshop (one where Nick Cave used to come in to make sure they had his book). And then the other friend and her boyfriend are selling their house.

And, you know... I'm considering dying my hair.

It's not the same.

I just don't think I've ever experienced contentment for more than a 10-minute period. Happiness, yes. Even joy. But I'm never content.

My friend's boyfriend has encyclopaedic knowledge of the starsigns of celebrities (Jeffrey Archer, Aries). But he didn't try and guess mine. Mmmm... but then again, he was telling us that Star Wars features Steve 3PO, Arthur D2 and Garth Vader. So, I don't know. He used to be a reflexologist, now he writes (and publishes) books. He had the US proof for his first book. Not a novel, it's more of a compendium. He's nice.

Anyway, I'm glad that they have things happening. I love my friends, i love spending time with them. They're really fun and funny and interesting, and we don't talk about crap stuff. Like men, we don't talk about men. Last night I went out with my flatmate and her friend, and they were just the type of girls who talk about men and relationships and who is a bastard and all of that, and I realised I just don't talk about that stuff with my friends. And that that is a good thing, for me.

Why do weekends go so fast?




2:44 a.m. - 2003-06-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless