girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All or Nothing

I don't like to leave the last entry up there as the last entry for too long when it's, well, less than pleasant.

I mean, I could take it down, but I think it's a very valid expression of how I was feeling at 8.41 this morning. And 9.41... apparently I had a brief respite from such feelings at 10:54, but I've felt that way again since then.

..........

I'm going to see the new Mike Leigh film, All or Nothing this evening. I've not seen a huge number of Mike Leigh's films, but I can never forget seeing Secrets & Lies. For obvious reasons (although unless you've seen it and read a fair bit of my diary, I guess it's not so obvious, so I'll spell it out... it's about adoption), I find it really emotional. Reunion stories are the one thing that makes me really really teary, and in this movie, when Brenda Blethyn says: "Don't break my heart", then mine just does.

Anyway, All or Nothing is set on some kind of council estate in south London, and when I was talking to D. who lives in south London near lots of council estates, he was saying that it wasn't on anywhere around where he lived. Because if you live on a council estate in south London, you want to see films about kick boxing. If you live in a beautiful house in Hampstead, then you want to see films about living on a council estate in south London. And not so you can think you're lucky either. I think it's so you can talk about it at dinner parties.

(I lived on a council estate in east London for three years just to qualify all of this.)

2:02 p.m. - 2002-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless