girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Semantics

Just in case anyone has been fretting over my toilet paper crisis, you can relax -- my other flatmate bought some.

The English language is a wonderful and subtle thing.

Which probably has nothing to do with the conversation we were having the other night. It started when the movie American Pie was mentioned, and someone asked "Is that one where he wanks with a pie?"

There followed a debate on what exactly he was doing with the pie. Wanking or fucking? (Strangely, making love didn't come into it).

The main argument was, on the side of wanking, that if one was using one's hand, one would never say that one was fucking one's hand.

On the other hand (boom boom!), the pro-fuckers were arguing that if you were merely wanking, then that would just be coming into the pie, so therefore he's fucking the pie. (Someone also ill-advisedly compared a pie to a sleeping wife, but I think he withdrew his argument.)

I was firmly on the side of wanking. But I'm not sure I've seen the film, or if I just think I've seen the film. I was trying to think what kind of pie it is, but I can't think, so maybe I've not seen it. Or maybe that's not integral to the plot?

10:56 a.m. - 2003-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless