girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aristocats

A stupid man in my office, who talks far too loudly and about whom I know far too much seeing as I have NEVER spoken to him, is telling an American that the British actually quite like the aristocracy because when the aristocracy were "in charge", the British had an empire and the country was the most powerful in the world. He says everything with great bonhomie and I do want to kill him. I can't wait until he immigrates to his house in Brittany with his girlfriend (see what I mean about knowing too much?)

Also, he did begin a sentence "I've been fortunate enough to travel extensively". Which surely any right-thinking member of the aristocracy would have hanged him for. Maybe things WERE better then.

I have been walking around trying to think of six favourite songs for Repatriated Expatrica, but kind of not being able to. OK, though, I have firmly had "Born Under Punches", by the Talking Heads. And... oh, wait, loud man in the office has just posited the theory that "Americans really can't drink". Also, that getting drunk in Britain on a Saturday night used to be a "working-class trend".

He must know different Americans to the ones I do.

Songs: I don't know, I just don't know. Um, 'Night In My Veins' by the Pretenders (oh Christ, the loud man is back, why doesn't he have a longer lunch break?). 'Don't Rain On My Parade', I guess any version would do, but the one I have is Shirley Bassey. I want a Kate Bush one too, so I am going for 'Running Up That Hill' (for now). And one more favoured song. Marilyn Monroe singing 'A Fine Romance'.

I wish I was staying in tonight, but now that I know what my money situation is, I guess I will be staying in quite a bit. Maybe I should write in my diary "not going out (unless it is free)" every night of July.

I had to ride my bicycle around Hyde Park instead of through it, because of Bob Geldof.

Now, Expatrica, what are your favourite six yoga poses and why?

1:21 p.m. - 2005-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless