girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Australia, Australia

Someone claiming to have a degree in "entertainment technology" has sent their CV to me. And to think, I'm still mocking "media studies" as a discipline (I have an incomplete degree partly in Australian literature, if I get laughed at for that then I can laugh at others... I mean, at least I had to plough through Patrick White books to not get my degree).

Am I too serious for getting upset in a pub when a woman slapped a man (in the group I was with, but not my friends)? Earlier I'd heard the woman say that it was good being a woman because she could hit people. And that had upset me too. She was awful though, awful in every way (especially her floppy hat and pale, long, flared denim skirt). I left them and went home and made bread, and making bread is a good antidote for being annoyed with shallow violent women who work in the public relations "industry" (I wonder what her degree is?)

Everyone should have friends who have friends who recommend interesting and fun gigs to go and see, because then you would be like me and have been to two interesting and fun gigs within a five-day period, hurrah! First was Mark Mennone, and apparently his band is kind of big in Australia. That was with Jenny, and it was brilliant. And then Jim Noir, which was great too, but his next show is already sold out, so boo.

It's Australia Day, put a lamington on your head and eat a cork hat to celebrate, everyone.

11:18 a.m. - 2006-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless