girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to work

Text messaging is the new Times Births, Deaths and Marriages column -- I just got a text message from a friend's husband saying that their baby had arrived safely.

When she was pregnant she told us that she wouldn't be discussing the name of the baby "because someone always went to school with somebody called so-and-so who they never liked".

So luckily she never told me what names she was considering, so we never had the conversation where I told her that Victor was the name of the vicar at my local church who was defrocked for making a 14-year-old girl give him a blowjob. Actually, it was more than once.

(As a side note... do you think that was why they told us that God only frowned upon full penetration, but that everything else was technically OK? Although they warned us that once we got started it might be difficult to stop.)

I'm back at work today, and thousands of school children are back at school and, you know, it's just so much nicer with them not around clogging up the buses and what not.

I had the fortune to overhear this scintillating anecdote on the bus this morning. "Yeah, and I was, like, really amazed because I studied really hard for my Latin exam and I, like, got an 'A'. And I was like, woo hoo!"

And to think -- that girl's parents are paying a lot of money for her education.

Apparently Douglas Coupland was really great. My boss brought me back a photocopied note that was on the seats when they got there. It says:

Please have your mobile phone set so that when the moment comes, (and it will) you can play its ring tone over and over loudly.

I'm serious.

Thanks,

DouG

So, you know, I'm happy that he brought me a piece of photocopied paper. Douglas Coupland was trying to recreate the eerie scene that emergency workers found when they walked in to the cafeteria at Columbine and the only sound was mobile phones ringing. It's the soundtrack for modern disasters, it seems, I remember hearing the same thing following one of our regular train crashes here.

Anyway, here's hoping that laughter IS the best medicine, better, at least, than having a quiet night in, because I'm going to the theatre tonight. Hurrah!

10:21 a.m. - 2003-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless