girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cochineal

Once there was a function at my work, after work, but at work, and I drank lots of red wine (that link has nothing to do with my story, but it just popped in my head that I could do that link anyway, and her diary is super great).

Actually, rather than drinking lots of red wine, it can generally be supposed that I drank too much red wine. The reason that can be generally supposed is that I had to get off the tube only three stops after getting on the tube to go and throw up at the conveniently located Burger King in Earl's Court.

It was a bit of a disaster, because as anyone who has drunk too much red wine on a relatively empty stomach knows, when it comes up in the form of vomit, it's pretty brightly coloured. I think that in Crayola colour terms it might be called "cochineal", if cochineal is the colour I think it is.

Sadly for some lowly-paid Burger King cleaner, there was no toilet paper in the toilet, a fact noticed by me after I'd already ... you know ... spewed, as we say back in Australia. And I made kind of a bit of a mess.

AAAAaany way... you wouldn't believe it, but I didn't learn my lesson about drinking too much! And some months later I found myself in the exact same situation of being on the tube and arriving at Earl's Court feeling the worse for wear. Being a creature of habit, I went to Burger King for a repeat performance, but was thwarted by the fact that Burger King no longer kept its toilets opened late at night.

I was really embarrassed, because I thought that maybe my red wine (now I'm sort of sorry that I linked that diary, because this isn't a nice story) vomit had been the straw that broke the camel's back and that's what caused them to close the toilets, and I was feeling guilty.

But just the other day, I decided that I absolutely must use McDonald's facilities (not because I'd been drinking red wine, mind) and they had a notice up saying that their toilets weren't open late at night BECAUSE OF THEIR LATE NIGHT LICENCE.

So it probably wasn't my fault after all.

I'm going to New York tomorrow. Isn't that super exciting?

2:32 p.m. - 2003-05-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless