girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Further signs of madness?

I had four days off work, and I did nothing, but I'm completely knackered and I need more time off already.

I couldn't stop being angry about cocktail umbrellas on Friday night, they suddenly seemed to be the last sign of the insanity of the world. I was in a bar, of course. I'd had a fight with the door on the toilet cubicle, because it wouldn't lock properly, and I'd been sitting next to Paul, who is a ranter. I mean, it makes me laugh, but I think his ranting is infectious.

So I was examining the cocktail umbrella in detail, increasingly angry at it, wondering at where the whole idea came from, whoever invented this tiny, intricate and trivial object, with its ten hinged spokes, the flower design and -- this was getting to me more than anything -- that little plastic ring that you slide up to keep the umbrella open.

But a couple of days later and I can't decide whether a cocktail umbrella is a sign of the world gone mad or, in fact, the sign of civilised society.

Yeah, I know, I should be worrying about my overdraught, my credit card bills and war in Iraq. I'm trivial.

Overdraft? Overdraught? Oh dear, I think it's probably overdraft.

..........

The Easy Way to Stop Smoking*

  • Buy a copy of a book called The Easy Way to Stop Smoking, by Allen Carr (as recommended by former-smoker colleague).
  • Realise you're too lazy to read a book called The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.
  • Stop smoking so you don't have to read the book.

    Yeah. We'll see.

    *With acknowledgement to this entry by Refluence





    11:14 a.m. - 2002-12-02

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

  • latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    other diaries:

    jennyj
    pablo
    pollymagoo
    buck88
    expatrica
    discodave
    exhaust
    zeroreverb7
    propeller
    trishtastic
    rue-madame
    starzero
    meepful
    cruel-irony
    heidiann
    division-day
    heelandlass
    purplebanana
    captvfirefly
    mousemilk
    culotte
    terminal5
    atavist
    ottodixless