girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you dickhole

Could the difference between being happy and being sad be... no, well, it's many things, obviously, like feeling good or bad.

No, what I was going to say was just that when I'm happy, I just accept it and don't analyse it, but when I'm sad, I try to figure it all out. I'm happy today.

I just did something I've never done before. I looked up "irony" in the dictionary. I looked it up because this morning was the most horrible morning of the autumn so far, pissing down with rain and definitely darker than any other morning ... and suddenly in my head was the song "Oh what a beautiful morning". So I was thinking... "ooh, irony, must point that out to an American today", then I decided to look it up. Because although I recognise irony, and can very easily tell it apart from plain bad luck, I couldn't define it even if it meant that Celine Dion would never record another song ever again.

..........

After reading this by kristoli, I decided to go to the BBC site and vote for the greatest Briton. I chose Shakespeare, and it said something about how many words he made up and (gah, why am I explaining my entire thought process for getting to this?) then I was looking up "irony" and it had a specific reference to "tragic irony"... AND (here it is! the point!) I remembered a word my friend made up. Tragefied.

Ooh, I just realised I've never seen it written down before. It's like horrified, so you could say that the Bali bombing tragefied you. It's kind of a useful word.

The other word she taught me, although this was made up by a girl in Japan, was "dickhole", as an insult. Like "arsehole". It's also a useful word, and I highly recommend you try using it in a sentence today. Maybe a sentence you're addressing to your boss, or maybe just someone who walked in your way on the street.



10:29 a.m. - 2002-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless