girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

factitious

A story in the Independent alerts me to the fact that Munchausen's by proxy syndrome is now called factitious illness by proxy. And what kind of a word is factitious? I mean, it sounds like it would mean that something was somewhat factual, in the way that fictitious means something fictional. But actually, it means lacking in genuineness, or a sham. And the definition for fictitious? Not genuinely believed, or a sham. Huh?

Well, I suppose fictitious illness by proxy could mean that the illness itself was made up. Except that how could you make up a good illness, when there are real ones like dartitis.

Last night my flatmate was so happy because he saw the Teletext headline "Singer Collins gravely ill", and he called out "Phil Collins is gravely ill!", and I had to tell him, it was actually Edwyn Collins. WORST DAY EVER.

Anyway, today is the best day ever, because my dried cherry dealer undercharged me, then gave me some for free, and then said that he would give me a discount next time. I guess they put a really big mark up on dried cherries then.

11:57 a.m. - 2005-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless