girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

flim flam and judy

Something nice happened this morning, which is that the bus driver, the same bus driver I see nearly every day, stopped for me even though I wasn't at the bus stop and he could have just driven right past, but he didn't and I got to work on time and didn't get stressed out.

Isn't that nice?

..........

I bought Sinead O'Connor's The Lion and the Cobra this week, for only a fiver from this great shop, and now I've got her stuck in my head, shouting at me "YOU should have left the light on". I've not heard that song, Troy, for so long, that I actually got nervous when I knew that bit was coming up where she sings "the Phoenix from the flame" really loud.

It's funny though, that song sounds so timeless, and then "I want your (hands on me)" really sounds so 1980s. The guitar sounds like from Powerstation, if you remember them.

I was so happy when I went to D.'s house (I was saying a long long time ago in this entry how I never go to people's houses). Anyway, not only did I get to see him wearing his Homer Simpson slippers, but I saw that he owns a copy of "Under the Cherry Moon", which is the movie that I always cite if anyone cares to ask me what's the worst film I've ever seen. AND HE OWNS IT. (It has Prince in it, but D. said that Prince's other film, Graffiti Bridge, is even worse.)

Anyway, D. is probably the only other person I know who owned both albums by the Duran Duran spinoff bands Arcadia and (see, this does relate to what I was saying before) Powerstation. And after we'd talked about them, I couldn't stop the song "Election Day" going through my head, with its ridiculous Simon Le Bon lyrics, such as:

Are you aware you're being illegal
It's making your saviour behaviour look evil
'scuse my timing but say
How d'you fit in with this flim, flam and judy?

Flim flam and judy... why didn't that expression enter common usage, I wonder?





10:13 a.m. - 2002-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless