girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the diarist sees a chocolate torte fly

I went to a birthday party last night, and the best thing that happened was that my friend whose birthday it was was dancing a bit enthusiastically and knocked this whole table full of plates and cake and cheese right over. I was watching and it happened in slow motion, but with a huge noise. And her mother ran over to rescue her chocolate torte (which somehow stayed in one piece). It was mostly funny because M. is the perfect, gracious hostess, the Nigella Lawson of Guildford, but then suddenly her birthday cake was flying through the air, and there was smashed crockery everywhere.

We left soon after.

M. was introducing me and Gay David to everyone so it sounded like we were a couple. But then I guess it must have been a single guy she introduced us to, because she said "there's a comma between them, not David AND", so that was funny. Her husband and his friends are really suburban, golf-playing, fixing-the-garden-on-the-weekend guys, and being around her house and her friends, it's like one of those lifestyle programmes suddenly come to life. Like ... "oh, so those ARE real people!"

I finished reading Hey Nostradamus! and I loved it. So I went and got Girlfriend in a Coma (I have bad luck with Coupland novels, only seeming to read the ones that no one raves about). And Hey Nostradamus starts out with a dead narrator, Cheryl Anway, and Girlfriend in a Coma starts out with a dead narrator talking about Cheryl Anderson, and both Cheryls are 17-year-old girls, and Cheryl Anway was having sex binges with her boyfriend before she died, and Cheryl Anderson had a sex binge with the narrator of that bit of Girlfriend in a Coma before he died.

Are there more Cheryl A's in Douglas Coupland's books?

I bought Girlfriend in a Coma because everyone loves it, but I always picked it up before and I didn't like the cover or something. Although now I like the cover. It was when everyone suddenly did that whole photocopying people thing -- Tori Amos, Levi's. But I like it now.

These hot days are the worst in London, there's nothing to do, nowhere to go, or if there is somewhere to go, getting there seems like the biggest endurance test. This place isn't built for the heat, and neither am I.

10:30 a.m. - 2003-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless