girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting things in perspective (or \"In which the diarist reveals herself to be a mean-spirited, stingy friend. Again.\")

You didn't watch the show, you didn't discuss it in the pub, now don't take the Shattered tests! It told me "get a good night's sleep and come back tomorrow".

I've scored a victory in the Great Hen Night Destination Debate of 2003/4. Well, I think that the � "hens" had been talking about it without me. Which is why destinations such as Brussels, Bruges, Portmeirion and, I kid you not, Butlins, had been discussed. Luckily I was on hand to provide some much needed guidance, and we've decided on Paris. Paris!

But my victory is merely in terms of destination. What is the deal with going away for a whole weekend? I just hate it, I don't understand why it's necessary. It assumes so much. For one thing, it assumes that all your friends are all friends with each other and want to spend a whole weekend together. It assumes that all your friends are happy to direct their usually limited finances at celebrating your forthcoming nuptials. And it assumes that we're happy to spend our precious time away from work -- including taking a day's holiday -- the same way.

Unbelievably, it was also suggested that we could all donate some funds towards the wedding, at which, being surly and ungenerous, I had to say that I didn't really feel it was necessary for me to neglect my burgeoning debt to pay for someone else's wedding AND spend TWO DAYS on a hen weekend AND presumably fork out for some luxurious item that I cannot afford for myself as a wedding gift. I'M SINGLE GODDAMIT. Grrr. It's like in the bible where they say let the dead bury the dead. Well, let the marrieds pay for the weddings.

At least I won't have to be spending a weekend in Brussels to contemplate such injustices. I have nothing against the place, I just can't understand why anyone would choose it when there's the whole of Europe to visit.

I should add that not one bit of this was the bride's idea. In fact, it's all supposed to be a secret, WHICH IS JUST ANOTHER IRRITANT.

Why can't they just live together??

11:37 a.m. - 2004-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless