girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Houston

So I was in Houston for 10 days but don't ask me what it was like because I didn't see much other than my brother's house, the highways leading to my niece and nephew's school, one cafe, one art gallery (where I spent most of my time telling my nephew not to touch things), and one huge shopping mall, which was much like every other shopping mall I've been to, but bigger.

I didn't see any cowboys.

Things that are bigger in Texas than anywhere else: the queue for immigration and kitchen paper towel squares.

Things that are disappointing about Texas: I didn't see vast numbers of hugely fat people (Houston is only the second fattest city in the US now, Detroit has taken over).

Things that are great about Texas: it's still really warm in September and things are cheap (except for that box of dried cherries for $15).

I didn't go on a bus for 10 days, or in a pub or make a telephone call or sleep through the night. For 10 days.

Well, that's all over and I came home to a mushroom growing in our kitchen, and that was just horrible. And that's all that's happened, really.

12:24 p.m. - 2004-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless