girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I complain about women's magazines; the farmer takes his leave ... for now

I'm writing about a new magazine for women who like to go on mini-breaks. On Easyjet. And buy shoes and handbags when they get there.

It's making me very very angry.

I hate women's magazines, and I never buy them, they're so full of crap and ridiculous notions of what our lives are supposed to be like, how we're all supposed to be so great at our careers, and great at giving blowjobs, and have loads of really great friends who have great careers and give great blowjobs, and have great shoe collections, and are really busy busy busy living our great lives.

Fuck off -- whose life is that?

Women's magazines exist only to make one dissatisfied with one's life, and then turn to the useless products advertised for satisfaction.

The farmer leaves today, with his girlfriend. They're off on a Contiki Tour (click on that page to see a picture of two people in the middle of Piccadilly Circus, inexplicably staring at ... the ground).

I won't be missing the farmer because (a) he continually makes unfunny comments about how he's going to have to sleep naked, at which we're all supposed to be horrified before he reveals he's just joking (b) he continually refers to his girlfriend as "girlie", as in "hey, girlie, where's my T-shirt?" and (3) he offers his beer only to The Straightest Gay Man In The World, presumably because he's a man and we're ladies who will just have a glass of white wine, please.

Interestingly, I told my German sister-in-law that they'd been staying and were off on their Contiki Tour, and then, realising that popular culture tends to go over her head, I asked if she knew what a Contiki Tour was. She said ... oh yeah, Thor Heyerdahl, so I had to explain. She lives in such a lovely bubble, not exposed to people who go on Contiki Tours, and I think that's probably a nice place to live.




10:29 a.m. - 2003-07-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless