girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No popcorn, no sound

You know, they airbrush out Kate Winslet's thighs and make Britney Spears unrecognisable by changing her face for the covers of magazines, but The Independent has left a grey nose hair on Nelson Mandela on the front page of their supplement to celebrate his 85th birthday. It's a bit ... distracting.

The good news is that in this case a black pen is almost as good as Photoshop.

Why didn't one of you tell me that Carol Shields had died, mmm? She sounded like a really nice lady, she wrote nice books. Poor her, she was pretty young.

I got three Jackie Chan films sent to me today. I was told they would be Bruce Lee movies, though, so ... I was more looking forward to Bruce Lee. His movies have better names, and I was hoping to get Game Of Death, because it has the worst doubles (not stunt doubles, just acting doubles, cos Bruce Lee died) ever, it's too funny.

I also got three fortune cookies, and the first one (which will clearly be the most reliable prediction, won't it?) reads "You will be on television soon".

My third free thing was a sample of Persil's new laundry tablets from Tesco -- I can't wait to get to the washing machine now. What a great day!

Suddenly, after accidentally seeing Nicholas Nickleby during the week because I just had to go to the movies and it was the only thing to see without waiting for a whole hour, there's lots of movies to see this week. Like Buffalo Soldiers, and ... well, not that many. Should I see La Passion de Jeanne D'Arc? I've never seen a silent movie before, but you know, all those "best movie ever made" things. Maybe I should go. But ... it's on at one of the stupid no-popcorn cinemas. I'm not going to go, am I. I'm not going to see that movie, and I'm not going to get a life coach, and I'm going to be OK. OK?

1:38 p.m. - 2003-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless