girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What the world needs now is levity

I can't stop wondering... which of these three celebrity ad appearances is the most offensive? Madonna in Gap ("where'd you get dem jeans!"), Ben Affleck in L'Oreal ("here comes the science") or Justin Timberlake in McDonald's ("we're lovin' it" -- it's not on in the UK yet, but you can watch the ad here).

It's so hard to decide. I think, though, that I'm coming out in favour of Justin Timberlake sucking the least. Because even though it's McDonald's that he's promoting, pretty much of an unforgiveable sin, it's not like he's throwing away a whole lot of credibility -- the past year notwithstanding. I mean, he was in a manufactured boy band, and I think that before that he was on television in the Mickey Mouse Club. He probably went to stage school, and I doubt that stage school fosters a sense of personal integrity. So he's the least worst.

But between Madonna and Ben Affleck?

Madonna used to be a joke (of course, I loved her most during her "joke" period). Then she struggled hard to become accepted as a Serious Artist. Overlooking her entire film career with the exception of Desperately Seeking Susan, Madonna has now got the status she craved. So why throw it away by giving a completely sucky performance in a sucky Gap ad. Especially at the end when she sounds like a five-year-old saying "I can do that" when Missy Elliot does the splits. It sucks. I mean, she doesn't need the money, why did she do it?

Ben Affleck is carving out a niche for himself as the Sylvester Stallone for Generation X. Which is to say, in 20 years time, 20-year-olds are going to be amazed that he won an Oscar for co-writing a half-decent screenplay. "What, you mean Ben Affleck? Who divorced Jennifer Lopez? The action hero? He wrote a screenplay?"

I'm starting to loathe him out of all proportion to the amount that it is sensible to loathe people you don't know and who have no effect on your life. I mean, when I see that L'Oreal ad, I start thinking about all the things about him that suck. Starting with the fact that he used to be cool.

So through writing this entry and working through my rage, I think that Ben Affleck, you suck the most.

Anyway, what do you think?

Who sucks the most (hanging chad votes not valid)?
Madonna in Gap
Ben Affleck in L'Oreal
Justin Timberlake in McDonald's

Free polls from Pollhost.com

This time last year, in which I recount throwing up in Liverpool Street Station.

11:48 a.m. - 2003-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless