girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Liars and madmen

I went to the movies to see Jaws, and the guy introducing it told some cute anecdote and then said "and I haven't seen it since I was eight years old", and then after the screening he came up to my friend and said "wow, that was great even though I've seen it so many times", and really, why would someone lie like that? Except for the fact that he works in sales and was trying to prove that you can't believe a word that he says.

The site I work for published a story reporting the fact that Michael Moore was appearing on Question Time on the BBC (more of which can be read about here), and this has made people a couple of people in Pennsylvania very unhappy. People who don't quite understand that it wasn't actually us who chose Michael Moore, I suppose. They write:

"I got three words for your choice of Americans to cover the election: PA THE TIC!!! How sad that you have amassed such a one sided panel. That is pure and simple bad journalism no matter who's side you are on. How can you be so blatant and still try to call yourselves journalists?? I guess you must think that your fellow Brits are stupid."

and this...

"Following what passes for logic at the BBC, if you were going to announce "unbiased" coverage of Nazi Germany; the BBC would have put Hermann Goering, the inventor of the "Big Lie" in front of the camera. Once again you have done what leftist media always does: rendered yourselves biased and therefore irrelevant."

But anyway just in case this also seems terribly anti-American, I don't think this really has that much to do with being Americans, and probably has a lot more to do with the people who write letters to magazines at all. People who, in my experience, often seem to be somewhat mad.

12:10 p.m. - 2004-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless