girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Death to all modifiers

Supposing that I ever feel the need to buy cigarettes again, I could be in for some difficulty.

The European Union has realised that innocents like myself are under the illusion that cigarettes with the word "lights" or "mild" on them are better for us than cigarettes that do not have such modifiers. So, in their infinite wisdom, they have decided that tobacco companies can no longer fool innocents like myself by using the words "lights" or "mild" in their brands. (I'm fairly sure this means the word "ultra" is out, which was the tobacco companies' way of saying "tastes of nothing". This doesn't concern me.)

All of which led me to wonder how I'm going to be able to request a packet of Camel Lights or Marlboro Lights or any other packet of not-full-strength cigarettes in the future (should I ever find myself buying cigarettes again, as I have mentioned previously).

Someone has suggested that I will be forced to ask for "Marlboro Gold" or "Camel Blue". I suddenly had a flash forward in time, like 20 years from now, where I am part of a dwindling band of old smokers who cling to tradition by persisting in calling them "lights".

Anyway, it would be kind of funny if the upshot of this EU ruling was that we all ended up smoking full-strength Marlboros. Not that lights are any better for your health.





1:27 p.m. - 2002-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless