girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Lipstick Entry

So, I had a bit of a rant a couple of days ago, and it was completely unwarranted, and I feel a little bad about that.

But I did promise to talk about lipstick, and I think I'm ready, finally.

I mean, I didn't want to talk to soon. At the beginning of a new relationship, everything can seem so great, so perfect... and you think you just KNOW that it's right, but before you know it, it's all gone horribly wrong.

In my life, I've been on a quest to find the Holy Grail of red lipsticks. I've owned, well, not hundreds, I'm not that extravagant. I've looked at hundreds, I've owned dozens, but I've never been truly happy. I either like the colour, but the texture is all wrong; or it's got that great waxy texture that suits red, but the colour is too bright, too orange or just wrong wrong wrong.

But I think I've finally found it.

It's brand new (at least it's new here), and the bad news is, it's limited edition. It's Estee Lauder Pure Color Velvet Lipstick number 406, which is called "Velvet Kiss".

It's gorgeous. The strange thing about it is it doesn't even look red when you first see it. It's this kind of awful metallic hot pink shade. But that's just on the outside. Underneath is a deepish red, but still undeniably red.

It goes on so beautifully too. It's soft and creamy but it somehow looks kind of matte. I only remain to be convinced of its staying power. Once I'm convinced though, I guess I should run out and buy up as much of the stuff as I can afford. Because it's limited edition.

..........

I'm no patriot. I don't believe in being proud of the country you were born in because in the end, it's just random fate that you end up being born where you're born. But I read this and couldn't help feel a bit of admiration for some of my fellow Australians.

10:36 a.m. - 2002-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless