girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

loathing and pitying

I was at the new swimming pool, which is even worse than the old swimming pool in terms of inspiring rage, because it's all ladies, and for some reason, perhaps in a bid to prove that women are much better at cooperating, they've got a no-lane system, so when there are three people or fewer in the pool, you swim up and down in an imaginary lane, but when a fourth person arrives you're meant to start swimming in a circle.

Anyway, I was swimming up and down when I had my first encounter with a fully-covered up (even her head), presumably Muslim Turkish "swimmer", and I was alternately loathing and pitying her. Loathing her immenseness and the bizarre fabric of her swimsuit, and her inability to stay in her imaginary lane, and pitying her very lame "front crawl" technique (I'm Australian, I pity everyone who didn't learn to swim there because, really, Australians do swim nicely). Anyway, I got out of the pool and was stretching my ... the front thigh muscles, maybe quads? And the woman I'd been loathing and pitying was suddenly really concerned I'd hurt myself, even though I could tell that she could hardly speak English, she was really NICE and that TOTALLY RUINED my loathing of her.

9:43 p.m. - 2005-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless