girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oooh, it makes me ever so cross.

I'm moved once again to talk about L'Oreal and Ben Affleck, and their shite ad. You know, I wrote about this earlier, and I was just blaming Ben Affleck for being a twat, but I think that L'Oreal is just as much to blame.

There's a story going around that the ad won't be shown in the US because the ads are so embarrassing for Ben Affleck. (I wish I could post a link to see the ads, but I don't have one). It's utterly awful though, completely risible from the outset. He says: "This is a really dangerous job -- for my hair."

And then he spends the ad snogging the face off some model, who runs her hands through his hair, doing take after take and some stupid line about "here comes the science".

And here's a picture from it too:

Anyway. The ad was never supposed to be shown in the US, L'Oreal said. They said that Affleck's contract never included the US (or Mexico, apparently), so that it wasn't true that the ads were pulled because they were embarrassing for him.

Nonetheless, I think that L'Oreal deserves to be blamed, because they MADE the ad, and PAID for it to be on television. They are responsible for that piece of crap advertising, and if they're pissed off that people are writing that the ad is embarrassing then they shouldn't have screened it in the first place.

I hate this thing about making ads not to be shown in North America (even though L'Oreal is a French company), as if the Rest of the World just doesn't count, or is too unsophisticated to realise that something is crap.

And celebrities might have got away with making Japanese ads selling cigarettes and noodles and soap in the past, but hello! There's this crazy thing called the Internet these days, so sometimes we actually get to hear about these things.

This is funny, by the way.

Well, I just wanted to get that off my chest, and you know, this is exactly what the Internet and self-publishing is here for, right?

10:12 a.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless