girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was love at first sight.

I'm coughing up things that would've frightened Ripley in Alien, and trying not to exert myself in anyway, and secretly very happy to spend my Saturday night in a very sedate fashion, watching the BBC programme about the Nation's best loved books. Now we've to choose the best out of the 21 that are left. And though my vote will be futile in the face of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings fanatics, I'm wondering which book I should vote for as the book I most love.

The List

  • 1984, George Orwell - I can't understand how anyone could love this book, which isn't to say that it's not brilliant and insightful. But I didn't love it.

  • Birdsong, Sebastian Faulks - never read

  • Captain Corelli's Mandolin, Louis de Bernieres - never read

  • Catch 22, Joseph Heller - This book is, for me, both lovable and amazing for the way it was written. Definitely in consideration for my most loved, I think it's so incredibly human and funny and poignant.

  • The Catcher in the Rye, JD Salinger - Also up there for my most loved, even though I've not read it for years. But even if I don't vote for it, it would win my vote for most loved beginning of any book I've read.

  • Great Expectations, Charles Dickens - I don't love this book, with all of its strange strange, dark characters and confusion about the real ending, and Estelle is so mean! So I won't be voting for it.

  • Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell - never read

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, JK Rowling - never read

  • His Dark Materials, Philip Pullman - never read

  • The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams - There's no doubt this book falls in to the category of "loved", it's go so much funny stuff in it and it's brilliant. But I won't be voting for it.

  • Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bront� - Probably in the front-running for my most loved, at this point. But that's judging it strictly on the "loved" criterion. Oh how I loved this when I first read it. And when I go to the British Library, this is the manuscript I find myself staring at the longest. "Reader, I married him." (Sorry if that gave away the ending for anyone)

  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, CS Lewis - I don't know, I have read it and I think I liked it, but it's certainly not stuck with me in the way other books have

  • Little Women, Louisa May Alcott - Hmm, I guess this book would win if the list was "Books that have made me cry the most and can still do so". And I do love those girls. But it's not my most loved, so I won't be voting for it.

  • Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien - never read

  • To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee - never, I ashamed to admit, read it

  • Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen - If it was most loved author, I think she would probably win my vote. And I absolutely love this book, and Elizabeth is wonderful. But there's sort of a boring bit in the middle. Well, I'm considering voting for it, but I probably won't. But I might.

  • Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier - Can I take this opportunity to point out to anyone who names their daughter for this book... REBECCA WAS THE BAD ONE. Again, sorry for spoiling that if you've not read it. I actually knew someone called Tracey, who decided to call herself Rebecca after reading this... why? Anyway, I guess I loved reading it, but it's just not up there for me

  • War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy - never read

  • The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame - Amusing in that English way. Lovely and sweet, but messing around in boats is not what it's all about for me

  • Winnie the Pooh, AA Milne - Have I ever read this from cover to cover? I've no idea. So clearly not my most loved then.

  • Wuthering Heights, Emily Bront� - Now, I did love this when I was a teenager, but I have to say that when I tried to reread it in my twenties, I found it kind of annoying and I didn't finish.

    Well, if you were dying to know what I thought, you now know. And I'd love to know what you think of what I thought, so please feel free to tell me.

    (And if you can't face life without reading everything I read, you should scoot on over to Cruel-Irony, who kindly invited me to write a guest entry while she was at JournalCon. Although I'm not sure if I'll be invited back to play after she sees what I've written about.

    8:37 a.m. - 2003-10-19

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

  • latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    other diaries:

    jennyj
    pablo
    pollymagoo
    buck88
    expatrica
    discodave
    exhaust
    zeroreverb7
    propeller
    trishtastic
    rue-madame
    starzero
    meepful
    cruel-irony
    heidiann
    division-day
    heelandlass
    purplebanana
    captvfirefly
    mousemilk
    culotte
    terminal5
    atavist
    ottodixless