girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Name an architect mentioned in a Simon & Garfunkel song

I went to a music quiz last night, and oooh how I love a quiz, but gee, how dismally I do when it comes to music.

I was riding on the coattails of D., and mostly my answers had nothing to do with music (identifying a picture of a young Truman Capote; naming Frank Lloyd Wright; and recognising lyrics from a Kylie Minogue song)*. Anyway, it was grand in the end that our team was not in a medal position, so to speak, as it was all chocolate and champagne prizes, and I wasn't in the mood for explaining to people that not only am I not drinking for Lent (people keep asking if I'm Catholic), but that chocolate is out too.

I feel kind of good now, in my new regime, but I guess that, well, considering how badly I was eating before and stuff like that, I was bound to feel a bit better from slightly upping my vitamin intake and all that.

Could this be possible though? When I got home last night, kind of lateish, I'd a little fondue party all by myself, with my Marks & Spencer fondue that is microwavable, and a lovely baguette (from Selfridges!) and I woke up this morning having these alcoholic burps. At first I was wondering if it was possible for cheese to ferment in one's stomach, but then I decided that fondue maybe had white wine in it... which wouldn't be made non-alcoholic by mere microwaving. And the thing is, I know that it's only been a week since I stopped drinking, but I swear, I felt a tiny bit hungover.

Is that possible? Or am I just imagining things?

Well, I'm not feeling bad about it, because it was done innocently enough. Although I have to confess to eating one crisp last night, as well as pudding at lunch on Wednesday (but there was no chocolate in it) as well as pudding at my brother's house on Sunday.

It's a bit easier than I thought, at the moment. I mean, there's a moment when I go into a pub, where I feel a bit tense, and in some kind of Pavlovian response I think my body braces itself for that first hit of alcohol, but once I've said I'm not drinking and all of that, it's pretty much OK.

Mind you, I did have a dream about champagne the other night and not being able to drink it, and I think that pushed my anxiety level up a little. Other than that, I'm walking around the foodhall of Selfridges and Fortnum & Mason, and even when I look at my favourite Godiva chocolate I still remain completely calm.

..........

* I just remembered that one of the questions I got right was to do with Interpol, not the music, but the fact that I'd even heard of the band made it possible to answer and I've only heard of it from reading people's diaries on Diaryland so thank you to anyone who has mentioned Interpol for helping me




12:38 p.m. - 2003-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless