girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post names no names

Online publishing. It's interesting, isn't it? I mean here in the UK, there is panic on all these message boards like Popbitch and Rivals.net that the fo0tballers at the centre of r@pe allegations will be named on their sites and therefore leave the site owners open to libel suits.

And yet I could just name them right here and now, and it seems unlikely that the site owners of Diaryland, who are from Canada I believe, would even be aware of it.

I mean, it's only a matter of time before the names get out there somehow, right? Like with the John Leslie thing? It's just interesting that this whole thing about blogging makes our libel laws pretty ineffective. I mean as it happens, Diaryland has my credit card number (at least PayPal does), and could probably track me down. But how easy would it be to set up an anonymous site -- OK, the only people who would hit it would have to be people who knew what they were looking for.

Libel law is a law for the rich anyway. Which is why Elton John can sue every time his name appears in the newspaper and he doesn't like what it says, but other people have no redress.

Anyway, I'm not going to repeat any rumours I've heard. But it is interesting.

I didn't wear any clothes inside out today, but I did just realise that might tights are on back-to-front... sigh.

How are you?

11:00 a.m. - 2003-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless