girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy new year

I learned that Germans use their soup spoons completely differently to the way we do! They're shaped differently and everything. And... mmm, well, the fireworks there, where I was, aren't central, everyone in the town just sets off their own, and it was kind of amazing, fireworks everywhere as far as you could see.

I'm so glad to be back. I've had enough of this stupid German accent in my head, I can't read any stupid sign without this stupid accent... like "Chitty Chitty Beng Beng" is how they say it.

Overall, it was the least astounding New Year I've had since... well, since last year when I was in bed at 10:30pm. And the year before that where I stayed home and watched television.

I don't like it very much. But it seems like other people had a good time, or at least were glad to see the back of 2002, so that's a good thing.

I wasn't making any new year's resolutions, only I saw myself naked in a full length mirror with harsh lighting (I was by myself, OK?) and now I'm going to swap bodies with a twenty-year-old gym fanatic who has never spent a day in the sun.I have terrible skin, so many moles... ugh. Thank you Australian childhood before sun protection was a national obsession.

I keep seeing myself reflected in glass and I start wondering how this whole ageing process thing will affect me.

I am glad I don't live in Germany. I don't want to live in a country where I don't speak the language, I just don't like it, I find it stressful and frustrating that I can't say what I want to say.

I'm so glad to be home with nowhere to be going for the indefinite future.





9:45 p.m. - 2003-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless