girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The people ride in a hole in the ground

I arrived at the airport to go to New York last week with a hangover after singing Karaoke, and I arrived at the airport yesterday to leave New York with a hangover after singing Karaoke. I like the symmetry. The hangovers, however, were horrendous.

I did so much fun stuff while I was there, but most fun was seeing the currently-locked Vancookie once more. He knows how to show a girl a good time -- on Saturday afternoon he took me to an incredible programme of ballet in the rarefied surroundings of the Lincoln Centre. And two days later in the decidedly more downmarket surrounds of a Lower East Side Karaoke bar we were belting out songs in front of an audience including a man in an eyepatch having arguments with himself, a newlywed couple and a man who wished me to take a message to "your people" to thank them for their support at "this difficult time". Cool!

Vancookie can really drink -- and he managed to show up for work the next day and see ballet that night, which is hugely impressive. I could only manage to curl up in a fold-out bed feeling sorry for myself before managing to get it together to get on the plane.

Other highlights from my trip: staying a night in the Plaza; having 15 seconds of pure joy in an installation at the Whitney called 'Fireflies on Water'; all the super-friendly New Yorkers; going back to our regular diner; dinner at Schillers, a restaurant so loud that it drowned out the huge thunderstorm; and the exchange rate. Low points: I just didn't do half as much eating as I would have liked.

I can't wait to go back.

4:41 p.m. - 2004-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless