girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Noodles

It's another hangover entry, so feel free to move along now if you've heard it all before.

I am trying to work out when my hangovers changed. I distinctly remember the last time that it was all with the throwing up and the headache (I wrote about it here if you want to know), now it's all about my head.

So, when I woke up yesterday morning, I didn't really feel that bad, but I didn't feel in the least bit normal. Maybe it's just because my liver is better these days, I don't know.

Well, after lying in bed and thinking about what I want, I then knew for certain exactly what it was that I wanted, and that was BBQ pork noodle soup from this restaurant in Chinatown. And in that focused way that you can get when you're hungover, where you know you can only think of one thing at a time, but you can really concentrate on that one thing, I set off on my mission.

But I was thwarted by the anti-war demonstration between me and my restaurant. I could have carried on if I'd been more determined, but I was flagging. So I had to settle for the vastly inferior noodles of Wagamama. It was OK, except then I was trapped in Knightsbridge hell, found myself wandering in a bewildered fashion around the food hall in Harvey Nichols, looking at packets of cookies costing �5 -- imported from Australia. I mean, really, I just don't know how good cookies can be that it would be better to fly them halfway around the world and sell them for so much money, than just to make them fresh here. Flour, sugar and butter, you know?

Then in the Harvey Nichols lift I saw a woman with the biggest diamond on her finger that I've ever seen in real life, except for the Crown Jewels. And I could see her boyfriend seeing that I couldn't take my eyes off it, but I couldn't be bothered to take my eyes off it anyway. I was thinking "If I could cut off her finger, I wouldn't have to work for several years". It was that big.

Wagamama noodles never seem to stop absorbing the liquid, so they get really soft really quickly, but the noodles at the Chinese place are a lot more robust, so when you get a mouthful, there's really something to chew on, and even at the end of the bowl of soup, then they're still in good shape. They have a better taste, too.

And you know, eating noodle soup by myself is really one of my favourite things to do in the world.

8:42 a.m. - 2004-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless