girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My greatest scheme yet.

Could this be my greatest scheme yet? Greater than the aborted �5 A Day in January scheme? Better for me than the Give up everything you like for Lent plan (which is still going strong, thank you for asking)?

OK. This is it.

The Give Up Thinking project.

The rationale: well, I think I can safely say that I spend too much time brooding, I've a propensity for over-analysing situations, and as for dithering, procrastinating, weighing up the pros and cons, covering my bases, assessing the situation, examining the possibilities and general dillydallying, I'm way beyond old Hamlet.

So... I should just abandon thinking, right? I'm trying to identify scenarios (scenaria?) where I'm most susceptible to the evil scourge (as opposed to those good scourges) of thinking. Walking is definitely one -- it was while walking that I came up with the whole cockamamie scheme. So walking is one vulnerable spot. Anything where I'm doing something with my hands that does not engage my brain is also a danger zone. Like washing up and cleaning and stuff like that.

I was a bit worried about my bus journeys as a potential time to slip into my dreadful habit (I can't read on the bus because I suffer motion sickness), but I think my state of mind on the bus tends more towards meditative rather than thoughtful. If there's a difference. Is there a difference?

Oh, no, if you look up Merriam-Webster, the entry for meditative doesn't mention thoughtful, but the entry for thoughtful mentions meditative (do you see the way this whole overthinking thing works? Do you??)

Ah, who am I kidding? It's probably easier to give up breathing than it is to give up thinking. At least in my case. I mean, I think there are some unnamed individuals to whom this does not apply. (Apropos of nothing... did anyone else enjoy George W. Bush's exciting neologism "legs of responsibility" yesterday?)

Right, though, I'll endeavour to let you know how I'm getting on without thinking. At least as long as I don't have to think about it. Oh oh oh... this is already giving me a headache.

..........

Speaking of dithering, my inability to decide on a book has prevented me from starting one. So I bought the new Vanity Fair, the Hollywood one (my favourite picture is the reunion of the Deliverance cast, with Burt Reynolds looking sooo freaky compared with his "naturally aged" co-stars... I always thought that Jon Voight had had a facelift, but he looks really normal next to old Burt, whose only concession to age seems to be a grey wig).

Anyway... I'd still be most grateful to you if you'd take a moment to vote in my lovely lovely poll, before I make a decision.

Bless you.

Which book should I read next?

Free polls from Pollhost.com



..........

Incredibly, My Friend The Pubic Hair is still residing on the watercooler.

11:06 a.m. - 2003-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless