girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Touch in, touch out

What strange language is used to inform Londoners how to use their Oyster cards. For example, at Tube stations they sometimes have a tannoy announcement telling people to "touch in and touch out". Which sounds just a bit rude. And I noticed at one of the machines where you top up your Oyster card a sign saying to put your credit card in "until you feel a connection". Ken Livingstone wants us to love Oyster (and snails?)

Being poorly absorbed my time most of last week. I think my body is in meltdown at the thought of leaving this building, this company after almost 10 years. Or else I'm dying. Or else I'm just really really bad at taking care of myself. But I juice carrots, it can't be that.

I just want it to be over now, I can't be bothered with talking about leaving drinks and explaining to people on the phone that I'm leaving. And then explaining to people at my leaving drink that I'm not drinking. And pretending to be pleased with whatever �10 gift my miserly colleagues will present me with, and wondering if I can leave my own leaving drink an hour after I arrived.

10:52 a.m. - 2006-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless