girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pigeon story

I'm filtering out a lot of war coverage by this stage, because it all just starts to sound the same, but on the radio this morning, it was hard not to register a reporter's sense of "shock and awe" at the fact that when they bombed the Ba'ath party headquarters in Basra that they were, like really accurate and managed to destroy the building.

..........

An on to matters more of more levity, this story made me laugh and reminded me that (a) I've never met a Dutch person I would describe as normal and (b) one morning I saw a pigeon eating some Freedom Fries I'd vomitted up in the gutter the night before (I was drunk, of course).

..........

I went to see that house last night, lovely location although it was within hearing distance of Stamford Bridge and I was there as the Chelsea vs Arsenal rematch was finishing and started getting worried about marauding Chelsea fans (I was wearing a red coat).

They closed off the road I was waiting on to catch a bus, and I walked for ages the other way, and there were very few buses around, so I ended up going the wrong way and heading to Knightsbridge so I could get back to Hammersmith and avoid the whole thing.

I think my fear was more of a crowded bus rather than because I was wearing a red coat, I should say.

Anyway... the house. Well, it was spotlessly clean, which was nice, but they'd advertised a double room and it turned out that someone living there was planning to move to that room which left a single room free, and that wasn't so appealing.

They seemed much younger than me. And just a bit boring. Well, on the way there I was thinking how much it irritates me when people wear sunglasses on their heads needlessly (for example, when it's dark; when they're sitting inside watching television), and then I arrive and this girl is sitting watching television inside after dark with sunglasses on her head. (And for heaven's sake, it's only MARCH, it's not that bright anyway)

She was watching one of those hilarious home video clip shows, where someone just happens to have been taping their husband mowing the lawn for posterity when he hilariously falls into the garden pond.

She was really laughing.

I think I will keep looking.




10:48 a.m. - 2003-03-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless