girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In praise of extravagant punctuation

I'm all for it. Brackets (parentheses?), ellipses, em dashes (I love the em dash but we don't use them at work, and I don't know how to make them on a PC, only a Mac), quote marks, colons, semi-colons, commas and, although not technically punctuation marks, italics and bold are also useful too.

Because I'm a crazy, no-holds-barred rebel, I like to break rules of grammar. I mean, fuck it... I start sentences with "And" and "But" and I DON'T EVEN CARE. I will quite happily use ("inverted commas") within brackets and I AM NOT AFRAID OF THE CONSEQUENCES. My goodness, I even use the word "nice" whenever I want, despite exhortations from more than one teacher to never, ever use the word "nice".

But you know what I figure (ooh, look, I did it just then ←)? The people who told me those things, who tried to constrain my extravagant use of punctuation and curb my courteous disregard for grammar, were teachers in primary school. Primary school teachers. And I spend all day everyday writing. So, fuck it, I suddenly realised that I probably know more about it by now than they did when I was in school.

..........

It's so weird, I'm still trying to set up this work-related blog thing (which is to say, it's for work, not about work), and it seems so artificial, writing an entry a day about some kind of a brand. But I kind of like the way my secret online life has a parallel in my real life.

Like I had to write a sentence as a summary of what it's all about, which I guess is the equivalent in Diaryland of that bit you put at the top of your profile, (mine says: "there's nothing I'd like everyone to know about me. nothing" or something that sounds overly dramatic. When actually, I like to read people's lines that say stuff like "30-year-old female living in London, working as a journalist" or something practical like that).

Do you know what I think I'm bad at? Carrying on a thought (or, I guess a post) to its logical conclusion.

10:28 a.m. - 2002-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless