girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can rant harder than you

When I was on holiday and spending lots of time at home and no time in an office, there were lots of things that I did not miss at all.

For example, I did not miss sitting next to the colour printer that is excessively noisy and completely misused by all the boring people who work on events. How I loathe them! How I detest their wasteful ways!

I did not miss the New Zealand girl with her fruity accent and overly loud voice, who I mistakenly thought had left for good but who turned up again last week. I especially did not miss her playing lite rock on her PC in the office without headphones and the way she sings along.

I did not miss having to deal with incompetent PR people and I did not miss having to send vaguely arsey emails such as the following:

Dear *****,

Apparently you're the person I need to contact with a question about S******/M***** advertising. This is my second day of trying to find out the answer to what seems like a relatively simple question, but so far I haven't managed to get an answer from A***** D***** [the advertiser], P****** [the advertising agency] or P******' PR agency [the public relations agency who is supposed to answer media enquiries about the advertising agency]. I just want to confirm that the new radio campaign been created by P*****, and check that it retains the "******* **** *****" theme of the previous ads.

Thank you very much for your assistance.

Best regards,

******1

I also did not miss contemplating the fact that the people to whom I send these stupid emails are all paid far more than I am and have great houses and work in really nice offices without sitting next to colour printers and dumb humming New Zealand cows.

Also, when I was on holiday I was unaware of the fact that the bastard who dumped me on Valentine's Day was contacting me suggesting we go out for a drink. I seriously don't think he thinks he did anything wrong in his whole treatment of me, I've so far resisted spelling it out to him because ... why should I? But now he's emailed again and I'm starting to feel as if I'm some kind of a new year's project or something.

Do you know what was really nice though? Sitting watching Monday night television with The Straightest Gay Man In The World and Ange, and having them all excited that I baked a cake, and laughing heartily at Little Britain 2. Perfect.

1 My email bounced back.

2 Matt Lucas' link goes to the Proclaimers website

11:16 a.m. - 2004-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless