girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wish you were here, the hotdogs are great

Raphael: what can you say, he paints terrific sleeves. Really super good on the sleeves. Other stuff too. Also he appears to have been a pioneer in the field of suns with smiling faces, obviously an inspiration to countless primary school children across the globe.

Good for him.

I don't know the ins and outs of the arguments for and against restoring old paintings, but I when one of the National Gallery's cleaned up paintings right next to one that's got hundreds of years of dirt ingrained in it, the cleaned up ones look brilliant and vivid and, well, much better.

On the way there, I saw two tourists at some non-descript fast-food van at Hyde Park Corner having their photo taken with the owner, one of them proudly posing with her hotdog. And, I mean, what is with that? It's not as if it was Harry's Cafe de Wheels or even David Van Day's burger van. And it's not as if London's famous for its hotdogs, either.

(Whenever I see tourists videoing the most mundane things, I feel really sorry for whomever it is that they're going to make sit through it when they get back home.)

On the way back, I saw Pug Man, which isn't really that remarkable, seeing as I've seen him there quite a few times, but it sort of is remarkable because only a couple of hours earlier I'd told my flatmate that she should go to Charing Cross Road to buy art books and that if she did, she might see Pug Man. So, I don't know, if I think of him, maybe I summon him. I know that he really does exist though, because I've seen other people on the bus looking at his "cute" pug.

10:45 a.m. - 2005-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless