girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

raspberry perfection

I wish I could remember who I saw on television explaning that Australians speak the way they (we?) do because it was sunny, and they squint their eyes.

So there you go, if you want to sound like an Australian, just squint and talk!

Or, you could chase around any hapless vowel you see and beat it mercilessly with a hammer until it's flat flat flat and can squeeze through a very small space.

Hey! I can say that, I'm from there.

Drinking warm water makes me thirsty and sleepy.

Sometimes the smallest things make me so happy. Like yesterday, walking through the door to my bedroom was making me incredibly happy, because I could do so without stepping on a dozen electrical cords (I remember a time, not so long ago, when I owned not a single device that needed recharging) or squeezing past the laundry basket (laundry hamper? ... hampered by my hamper, I was). Because I tidied up.

But I hate that fact that in everything, you know, just taking a messy room as a metaphor for the rest of my life, well, I have to be climbing over piles of rubbish before I can actually do something about it.

I think it's because of boredom, maybe? Like the idea of everything just running along smoothly for the rest of my life that you have to create these artificial things, these problems (remember, the messy room's just a metaphor, OK) so that there's the novelty of sorting them out.

I mean, it's like leaving cleaning until something's really dirty and then standing back when you've cleaned it, admiring the difference, thinking how much better and nicer it is.

Well, you know, because I'm still thinking about stopping drinking for my 32nd year of life.

When I eat raspberries, sometimes, quite often really, I have to stop and admire the perfection, the beauty and the joy! All those tiny little bubbles full of juice, joined together ... how? Yum! Has someone written a poem about raspberries? I like the plum poem:

This is just to say
I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

It's by William Carlos Williams, and if I quoted it before, then please forgive me, it's so sweet, and so evocative.

..........

Re: EastEnders and Nana M00n. Well, we (as in my me and my flatmate) think that Nana M00n's been ordered to keep her eyes open when delivering her lines, because she managed to do just that for a WHOLE SCENE last week (a 30-second scene, but it's a vast improvement).

10:58 a.m. - 2003-07-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless