girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

from the river

At the pub at lunch was Hanif Kureishi, he was lucky, he got to sit inside while I was forced outside on a hot hot day in the hot hot sun, wearing black.

Before that, I saw Michael Hesseltine, he jumped into his car which was just waiting for him to go.

Then, on the way home, I walked past the River Cafe, and outside were all the staff, being filmed. Except Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray, who were not being filmed, but were sitting apart, looking on. The director woman was making the kitchen staff shout "happy birthday Richard!", I guess to Richard Rogers whose practice is next door. Everyone was in the garden there wearing crisp white, they looked clean and beautiful, I wanted to go in and eat. I have before, but I always tell people ... "you know, cod is �25, and I just think there is only a certain amount of good that cod can be, and I don't think that it's �25 good". They probably don't have anything deep fried anyway.

Along the river were five fat teenage girls, white as can be, wearing not much and trying to get a tan, taking photos of the river, listening to the River Cafe people shout "happy birthday, Richard!" They were pretty and English looking, with their pale skin.

And then I was almost home, but I stopped at a pub for some mineral water and contemplated giving up drinking for a year, starting on my birthday, which is at the beginning of August. Actually, starting the day after my birthday.

Then I was sad because I hadn't seen Concorde, and I started thinking how it will be sad when it's gone for good, if it really will be gone for good. And what do you know, it flew right over me, so I saw the underbelly. A less elegant view, but still, I like seeing it.

And, you know, I really do love to live in London.

5:09 p.m. - 2003-07-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless