girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everything is rubbish. Again (but not really)

This is a real quote from a press release: "Content specifically designed for gifting is the new value add that will enable people to give content as gifts from the mobile phones, a brand new concept that will capture the imagination of the new technology aware consumer market."

If someone who knew me well tried to write a single sentence designed to irritate me more than anything else in the whole world, they couldn't possibly beat this. This is the kind of thing that makes me think, if I could get my French to a passable stage, that I should seriously consider moving country and never, ever speaking English again.

I do love English, I love it so much and it is brilliant the way it's inventive and unafraid.

But why introduce a word "gifting" when we have the noun gift and the verb to give? And then WHY USE ALL THREE WORDS IN THE ONE SENTENCE? Why don't we use "let" and "use" instead of "enable" and "utilise"?

Other rubbish things, all from yesterday: a man on the bicycle in front of my did this MASSIVELY LONG NOISY FART and then turned around to see me right behind him! I did not think it amusing at the time. Then, in Pret A Manger with Jenny, a woman came up to me and was all "Hi, how are you?" And wouldn't believe me when I said I'd never met her before! She looked at me for about 15 seconds with this FACE like she was waiting for me to say "just kidding". She said: "You look just like my friend Helen." And then I didn't know what to say, except that I wasn't. She wouldn't go away. She then thought I might be Helen's sister! I also did not think it amusing at the time (although Jenny agreed that you never know when it might come in handy to be able to tell someone, "No, I'm HELEN, apparently I've a doppelganger though.")

Final rubbish thing that happened: someone THREW UP AT MY FEET. I did not, nor will I ever, think it amusing. There is only ONE PERSON who should be vomiting at my feet and clearly that person is ME.

3:00 p.m. - 2005-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless