girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Santa Croce with No Baedeker

No Baedeker, but I will have my Time Out guide. Lordy, I even have one for London, I can't seem to go anywhere without one these days.

So, yes, tonight I fly to Florence and although I'm looking forward to it, I sort of wish now that I'd not been so much with the "I have to go there now!" impulse because it turns out that I really only have one whole day there, and I guess my trip is really expensive for one day in Florence.

I hope that I will at least see one thing that is so amazing and so beautiful that it will all be worth it. And also, I'm looking forward to being on my own for a bit.

In my attempts to see something so amazing and so beautiful, I plan to visit this exhibition, which is where this painting has disappeared to (I'd been wondering where it went), and I'm also going to see this, and I guess that means no time for Uffizi, which is sort of a relief because I'm imagining it to be super crowded and, well, I'd rather avoid that. Maybe I will go and see David, who's had a bath recently, but if I don't I won't feel regretful, I don't think.

Also, I've been told to have an espresso and spaghetti, which is fine because I can say both those things in Italian. I hopefully won't have any more spontaneous nosebleeds or too many hayfever attacks.

I don't know what book to bring, I suddenly feel as if I have to bring the perfect book, even though I'll probably just carry it around, but still, I want it to be the right book to carry around.

11:01 a.m. - 2004-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless