girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside.

I think tomorrow I go to the seaside. The seaside. Inevitably, the weather will be shit. I can't remember ever going to the English seaside and it not being grey skies and freezing wind. But I'm not blaming the English weather, it's more the fact I avoid crowds and therefore never ever go to the coast on a weekend during summer. Especially a sunny weekend.

There's something so depressing and quaint about the English seaside. I grew up in Sydney, oblivious to the fact that the sunny, sandy, half-empty beaches 20 minutes from our house were other people's idea of paradise. Beaches in Sydney are sort of just there, it's no big event to go to one, I mean, they're nice, it's just when you grow up with something you don't realise that it's kind of special.

The English seaside is, well, all the places I've been (Blackpool, Lytham St Anne's on the west cost; Whitby and Scarborough up there; Brighton, Leigh-on-Sea, Southend), I always feel like I've missed the good bit by about thirty years or so. It's just so depressing. Anyway, I'm promised good fish and chips in Whitstable, and if not that, then at least I'll be in the pub with friends, and then it doesn't matter where you are.

FREE FACT OF THE DAY: I've not sailed the seven seas, but I've seen all the oceans of the world, except the Arctic. Actually, there aren't that many oceans, so it's not that impressive. BUT, I've stood on the corner of Australia where the Indian and Southern Oceans meet. That's kind of cool, isn't it?

..........

It's so nice that people clicked on my poll. Although I can see that polls have a danger of becoming like the new site statistics (how many people have voted in the last three minutes??)

One person even voted that my diary is a pile of shite! Hooray!

Anyway, I wanted to let this one run for a little longer, and the good news is YOU CAN VOTE EVERY DAY. The way it currently stands, my fate is soon to be in the hands of other people ... which is pretty much a dream come true for me. The only thing is, I'm worried that ... well, you know, maybe you all don't read the self-mutilating/eating disorder diaries that much, but that you actually think I was serious when I said that the inhabitants of the Land o' the Diary are mentally balanced. I mean, I know you are. I'm just not sure about everyone else.

..........

I've a full cup of water on my desk and no recollection of having gone to fill my cup up. From a Prison penpal ad, an inmate was looking to write to "women (born a women [sic])". I guess he had a bad experience.





10:48 a.m. - 2002-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless